Aller directement au contenu
summertime flowers...  convenient kitchen with plenty of space if you decide to stock up at our local farmers markets.
Walk to Marta Downtwn Decatur Emory CDC 50s Ranch
Walk to Marta Downtwn Decatur Emory CDC 50s Ranch
2 voyageurs
1 chambre
1 lit
1 salle de bain
2 voyageurs
1 chambre
1 lit
1 salle de bain
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez

This comfy, spacious 1950s brick ranch offers old time charm w/ big-city convenience. Gorgeous walk-friendly neighborhood, historic buildings, boutiques, & great restaurants. Banks, post office, grocery stores, public transportation: all close by! Perfect for doctors, scientists, students, professors.

If this room is booked, make sure to check out my other listing to see if it is available:

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/400955

Le logement

PLEASE NOTE: I have 2 nice bedrooms available in my home. So even if it appears booked here, please send me an email to see if the other room is open.

You won't find any places in a nicer, safer, or more convenient spot for such an affordable rate. You can walk to the free Emory shuttle in 5 minutes or to Marta Decatur station in about 15 min. Emory is about a 25-35 min walk. Even Agnes Scott, Dekalb Medical, and the VA are nearby. Marta is a short, pretty walk away: downtown ATL is a 13 min ride.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
why would you want to stay here?
*you prefer the comfort of a cozy 50s home in a lovely walking community.
*you think big sweet orange tabby cats are wonderful (and they are).
*you like to awaken to the view and sounds of nature: mainly owls and birds, and an occasional coyote howl in the distance.
*you like eclectic decor, privacy of a home, & comfort of sharing space.
*you like the option of having access to a kitchen and home-meals.
*you enjoy yoga and/or exercise: I teach nearby and one perk is FREE group classes for guests! AND there is an 800 sq. ft. studio/exercise room at your disposal most of the time. Yoga mats and props, free weights, aerobic step...leave yours at home, you're welcome to use mine.

why would you NOT stay here?
*you are allergic to or dislike cats (there's just one, but still)
*you prefer hotel art and daily maid service
*you enjoy ordering room service.
*you don't like funky old houses.
*you don't like to share space.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
share a bedroom in my home. i work from home and am here a lot, but it is quiet and plenty of room for you to have your privacy.

there are two spare bedrooms, both cozy and comfortable with plenty of closet space and a full bathroom in the hallway. so if the one is occupied, then we may share a very large bathroom (with a jacuzzi). this works better with female tenants. one room has paneling as photographed.

you also have use of nice living room/dining room, a sun room and kitchen, plus a huge private 800 square foot yoga studio overlooking a flowering, lush private yard. The studio is set up with plenty of extra mats and props for your convenience and if i happen to be teaching a group, your attendance is welcomed for no additional charge.

wireless internet and long distance and local domestic phone calls are available. i no longer have pay TV, but there is a dvd player if you want to rent or watch movies.

feel free to use the kitchen...there's a health food store and grocery stores within walking distance. there's an oven/stove, refrigerator to use, microwave. i work at minimizing the amounts of chemicals in the home, so i use natural soaps, dishwashing detergent, cleaning products, avoid candles and air fresheners, etc.

i keep a huge assortment of organic herbal teas, black and green tea, and also have fresh ground coffee available at your request. and, as a healthy bonus, i have a whole-house water filter with an additional reverse osmosis filter for drinking water. so avoid buying commercial water and feel free to borrow one of my stainless steel containers for water if you'd like.

i eat at home and prepare meals with mostly organic, whole, plant based meals. I'm not vegan nor a vegetarian, but i eat mostly fish (not so much poultry or meat and when i do it is non factory farmed).... i do not require that guests eat the way I eat, by the way! just that you clean up after yourself if you eat and cook here.

there's parking in the driveway or the street in front of the house, and the area is very safe and quiet.

I have a washer and dryer for your convenience.

i have a sweet, big orange tabby named Leo who love to have yogi visitors. he is an indoor kitty so i ask that visitors be mindful to not let him outside..and he will try! so if he does happen to slip out, he generally just runs out a few feet...please just scoop him up and put him back inside .

you can walk to the historic downtown Decatur square, experience the famous Dekalb farmer's market, check out health food stores, local parks, the YMCA, and have at least 6 yoga studios within a mile or so. this is a pretty liberal, LGBT friendly home by the way.

ask me if you'd like a free pass for the newly remodeled YMCA (a 5 minute walk) and has a pool, sauna, classes and cardio/weight equipment.

From the Decatur Square, you can catch a train to travel all over the city...$2.75 will get you to downtown in about 13 min, Buckhead, the ATL airport, all around metro ATL etc... this is a safe neighborhood that has been described as Berkeley meets Mayberry in the Emory and Agnes Scott area and after your yoga classes, there are galleries, restaurants, and shops to unwind and relax. Ponce City Market, Little Five Points, Candler Park, Morningside, midtown, Va. Highlands, and downtown Atlanta are all within 5-15 min. away, depending on traffic and time. The Emory shuttle is free and picks up 2 blocks away, so this is perfect for visiting Emory students, teachers and doctors.

Uber and Lyft are nearly always under 5 min away and ride-share to the airport has only been around $9-$11 each way during non-surge pricing times.

if you would like me to provide food and/or local transportation, if my schedule allows, I would gladly try to do so for a small fee. I'm also happy to provide some fresh bananas and other fruit for you to snack on. JUST ASK!

no pets or smoking in the house. No incense or candles allowed. I just know you'll love your stay here and will do what i can to help you make the best of your stay. I've lived in this area my entire life and am happy to be your concierge!

Accès des voyageurs

kitchen, dining/living room, sunroom, yoga/meditation studio, large backyard

Échanges avec les voyageurs

minimal to moderate interaction depending on the needs of my guests and my work schedule. i respect your privacy....feel free to enjoy quiet, alone time here, or if I'm around and available, a nice chat is ok too.

Autres remarques

PLEASE DO NOT ALLOW LEO THE CAT OUTSIDE! Pardon the caps; this is important. He loves to run out if the door is held open for more than a few moments. IF he gets out, PLEASE grab him and put him back inside. He generally only runs out about 4 or 5 feet and stops, and he doesn't bolt away when you go to pick him up.

PLEASE: He must NOT be left outside!! he is an indoor kitty and could be killed by a car or even a coyote (they say there are some in the woods and can attack small pets. I have never personally seen one).

(please note: security deposit is based on a one week to one month stay. If you are staying longer, the deposit is $350, if you are staying shorter than a week, the deposit is $150)

Équipements
Pour familles/enfants
Cuisine
Parking gratuit sur place
Internet sans fil
Couchages
Chambre 1
1 lit double
Règlement intérieur
Non fumeur
Ne convient pas aux animaux
Pas de fête ni de soirée
Ne convient pas aux bébés (moins de 2 ans)
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait à partir de 13:00
Départ avant 11:00

Please no smoking, candles, or incense. However, if you smoke, you are welcome to do so in the private backyard or outside. Also, while I don't allow pets since I already have a big orange tabby, you are welcome to get to know Leonides. please just don't allow him outside..and he WILL try to run out!

À savoir
Présence d'animaux de compagnie sur place
Certains espaces sont partagés
Annulations

31 commentaires

Précision
Communication
Propreté
Emplacement
Arrivée
Qualité-prix
Profil utilisateur de Bradley
novembre 2017
Cozy, comfortable, like staying with family
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
Likewise! Come back again soon!
novembre 2017

Profil utilisateur de Viviana
novembre 2017
Me quedé con Lisa por tres meses. La casa de Lisa está en un barrio muy lindo y tranquilo de Decatur, muy cerca de la Universidad de Emory (30 min caminando), a 15 min caminando del centro de Decatur donde hay muchas tiendas y restaurantes, y a sólo tres cuadras de una tienda de abarrotes. Las habitaciones de Lisa son muy cómodas, la casa es muy grande y puedes hacer uso de los diversos espacios como la cocina, área de lavado, etc. Si vas a Emory y no te apetece caminar el autobús hacia Emory pasa a dos cuadras de la casa. Definitivamente lo mejor de todo fue la compañía, Lisa fue una excelente anfitriona, siempre pendiente de lo que te haga falta y siendo nativa de Atlanta siempre da muy buenas recomendaciones y siempre está dispuesta a ayudarte. Leo es un gato muy lindo y bien portado. Así que si eres amante de la naturaleza, los animales y quieres quedarte en un lugar que te permite tener privacidad pero que al mismo tiempo te ofrece una platica amigable de vez en cuando, yo te recomiendo que te quedes con Lisa.
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
Thanks so much again! I won't say goodbye...only "until we meet again". Enjoy being back at home w your family...I know they are excited to have you back too! xoxo~Lis
novembre 2017

Profil utilisateur de Himalayan
juillet 2017
This is the second time I have stayed at Lisa's place and both were wonderful!

Profil utilisateur de Elizabeth
avril 2017
Wonderful hostess and nice facilities
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
thanks so much! come visit again.
avril 2017

Profil utilisateur de Iosif
avril 2017
Incredible stay, lovely and helpful host. Felt welcome and very much at home. Peaceful and comfortable stay, great location and very cheap, Definitely recommend.
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
it was truly a pleasure!
avril 2017

Profil utilisateur de Kaitlin
avril 2017
Lisa's home is in a gorgeous neighborhood of Decatur. Easy walk to downtown Decatur, MARTA, Emory shuttles, shops, YMCA, and more. She is warm and welcoming and always up for a chat, and Leo the cat is as cute as can be. I felt very comfortable in her home. I loved my time here and would stay again without hesitation.
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
can't wait to see you again this July! Leo misses you too!
avril 2017

Profil utilisateur de Sarah
janvier 2017
Lisa was a lovely hostess - welcoming, friendly, and helpful. Leo the super-snuggly cat was a wonderful bonus!
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
Réponse de Lisa :
thanks Sarah...Leo and I hope you can come back again soon!
janvier 2017

Atlanta, Géorgie, États-UnisMembre depuis septembre 2010
Profil utilisateur de Lisa
i'm a rare breed, being a native of ATL. nearly 30 yrs ago i began buying and selling vintage items, and while my main passions these days are as a yoga instructor and holistic nutritionist, i still enjoy a yard sale here and there too. my son's all grown up now and i've really…
Taux de réponse : 100%
Délai de réponse : Moins d'une heure

Le quartier

Logements similaires