The front rooms have a hill view. Cropped fields, hedges and hills with grazing sheep.Choose from a  range of breakfasts, from continenal to full cooked.
Veuillez entrer le nombre d'adultes.
Adultes
1
Veuillez entrer le nombre d'enfants.
Enfants
De 2 à 12 ans
0
Veuillez entrer le nombre de bébés.
Bébés
- de 2 ans
0
2 voyageurs au maximum. Les bébés ne sont pas pris en compte dans le nombre de voyageurs.
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez

À propos de ce logement

Very deep in the countryside, next to the Cheviot Hills National Park, surrounded by farm and hill land
The Station buildings, School and Chapel are now residential and we have just 7 people in this, once busy little hamlet, plus the dogs, cats and chickens.

Le logement

One of only six dwellings in a scattered group and very far from the madding crowd. You maybe disturbed by the deer crashing away down the garden, and the squeeking sounds made by the baby hedgehogs, or woken by the lambs and calves complaining of hunger!.

The accommodation available is a double room and a single room. Bedding towels and toiletries are provided and there is space for clothes storage and hanging The kitchen is available for preparing lunches .

The area is famous with walkers and cyclists. Wooded valleys, an extensive footpath system, yellow sandy beaches, cliffs and surf, fishing villages.

I have "mains" electricity, most times, but candlelight when it fails! Water, drainage and gas are all on private supply and nearest street lamp is 6 kilometers away.

Next to the National Park and very close to ruined castles, abbeys and fortified manor houses, this area is full of history of the Border warfare.
The coastline is unrivaled for sandy beaches, rocky headlands and quiet fishing villages.
.
The hills and river valleys are unspoiled and ideal for walking, cycling, kayaking and horse riding. The Pennine way and St Cuthbert's Way are both very close as are National Cycle Routes.

There are many good restaurant, hotels and pub meals available in our scattered Border communities and Edinburgh, just 55 miles to the North or Newcastle 55 miles South are easily reached for day trips with the car.

Or, take the train from the main line railway station, in the historic walled town of Berwick UponTweed, a twenty minute drive.

Breakfast is included. The price for the double is £45 if you also book the single this will be an additional £20.

If you want to book the single separately please see my other listing - the single alone is £30.

Accès des voyageurs

The living room is available for guests who want to read, use laptops or sit and watch t.v.
.
If you are going out for dinner, please feel free to come back here to have your coffee and a chat...there might even be some cake on the table....

Échanges avec les voyageurs

I have a good knowledge of the Borders and beyond, from Edinburgh to Newcastle.
My kids grew up here and having lived here for 60 years, I am almost a local!
I can suggest days out featuring coasts and castles, abbeys and valleys, tours and hikes, stately homes and out of the way walks.
.
Please do make up your packed lunch in my kitchen if you wish. I can house your travel food overnight in my fridge, if needed.

Autres remarques

Be aware that in the hills the mobile phones have intermittent service. Get directions to my home before hand if posssible.
Especially note that my cottage is not in Cornhill village, but 4 miles to the South, towards Yetholm......Dont rely entirely on your GPS, use the Grid Cordinates of North 55.60, West -2.23.
.
You wll be staying at 2, Mindrum Station Cottages, Mindrum, Cornhill, Northumberland, TD12 4QL


Le logement
Capacité d'accueil : 2
Salles de bain : 1
Type de lit : Vrai lit
Chambres : 1
Lits : 1
Arrivée : 16:00 - 20:00
Départ : 10:00
Type de logement : Chambre privée

Équipements

Règlement intérieur
Non fumeur
Ne convient pas aux animaux
Pas de fête ni de soirée
Ne convient pas aux bébés (moins de 2 ans)
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait entre 16:00 et 20:00

Indoor footwear only please.
Quiet time after 22.30.
Minimum two nights booking.


Annulations

Flexibles

Si vous annulez jusqu'à 24 heures avant le voyage, vous recevez un remboursement intégral. En cas d'annulation au cours des 24 heures précédant le voyage, la première nuit n'est pas remboursable.


Dispositif de sécurité
Détecteur de fumée
Kit de premiers secours

Disponibilité
Séjour de 2 nuits minimum

37 commentaires


Précision
Communication
Propreté
Emplacement
Arrivée
Qualité-prix
Profil utilisateur de Chantal
mai 2016
Nous avons été très très bien accueilli par John sa maison est difficile à trouver mais en pleine campagne et me paysage est sublime John a su nous conseiller un pub vraiment très bien il a passé du temps en notre compagnie et nous a informé sur beaucoup de choses de sa région qu'il connait très bien grâce à ses conseils nous avons pu faire de très belles photos des châteaux environnants merci beaucoup John Chantal et Vincent

Profil utilisateur de Bertrand
avril 2016
La maison de John est située dans un hameau au milieu d'une magnifique campagne à la frontière écossaise. John nous a accueillis avec beaucoup d'attention. Nous avons pris plaisir à échanger avec lui durant notre soirée et le petit déjeuner. Nous avons eu la chance de profiter de ses conseils avisés sur les lieux à visiter dans la région.

Profil utilisateur de Philippe
août 2015
John est un hôte très sympathique. Il nous a donné beaucoup d'informations sur les sites à visiter dans sa région et sur nos futures étapes. Il voyage lui même beaucoup et aime beaucoup les contacts avec les voyageurs.

Profil utilisateur de Megan
novembre 2016
Stayed two nights with John in his home, he did everything to make us feel welcome. Sitting round the fire hearing his tales of travels was awe inspiring. It was a perfect base for getting out into the hills for some walking. One of the highlights was being able to see the Milky Way at night with it being a dark sky area.

Profil utilisateur de Beverley
août 2016
John welcomed us with a cup of tea and a biscuit! He was completely available while we were staying with him and was a fund of fascinating world-wide travel stories and full of useful local knowledge. He drew many simple maps for us, of where we were headed for the day - and how to get back....The cottage is cute and quiet and its location is very rural. The few neighbours are friendly and the nearby village has a shop, pubs and a post office. We really enjoyed our stay with John.

Profil utilisateur de Clémentine
août 2016
It was great to meet John and stay at his place! The cottage is lovely, surrounded by fields and sheep and the garden is stunning. We stayed there only one night with my husband and my 20 month old toddler. The room could fit our travel cot and we slept very well! We had a nice chat around some tea at night with John who even planned some lego for our son. The location is perfect because you are both feeling in a remote and quiet place and close to so many attractions in the same time! Hope we will stay there again! Thank you John!

We had a very pleasant stay in John's house. He knows how to make his guests feel at home and has a lot of stories to tell ! We recommand !

Cet hôte a 6 commentaires pour d'autres propriétés.

Voir d'autres commentaires

Angleterre, Royaume-UniMembre depuis janvier 2012
Profil utilisateur de John

Semi retired, professional background, world traveled (with boots and rucksack.!) Here in the U.K. I (volunteer) teach mountaineering skills and dinghy sailing.
.
Having visited about 40 countries myself, I often host friends from around the world or Brit friends who want to get away from the cities.
I have been involved in Couchsurfing, Scouting and the Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme, and actively participate in backpacking and other outdoor activities.
.
I love history , architecture, mid range music, theatre and play chess and scrabble (both badly).
.
I live in the very rural Borders, next to the Northumberland National Park in a former railway cottage dated 1885. (The railway has long gone and you need a car or, better still, wellies, hiking boots or a bike to get around here).
.
For me, its about hosting people who can be regarded more as friends, rather than guests and I would hope to be able to socialise with guests and pass on information and advice about the locality.
.
There are just seven people in our hamlet...plus four dogs , two cats and the chickens. We have a great local neighbourhood, with a formidable Pub Quiz Team (not the animals).
.
Its warm and dry in the house, but not really a Townie bolt hole,and you might face intermittent electricity, private drainage and water, the rooster next door and the bleating lambs as an alarm clock!

Langues : Français
L'adresse exacte est communiquée uniquement lorsque la réservation est confirmée.

Logements similaires