Cosy courtyard home (double bed)


Chambre privée dans : logement résidentiel. Hôte : Geoff & Sandy

2 voyageurs, 1 chambre, 1 lit, 1 salle de bain privée
Nettoyage renforcé
Cet hôte s'engage à appliquer le processus de nettoyage renforcé en 5 étapes d'Airbnb.
Idéalement situé
90 % des voyageurs ont attribué 5 étoiles à l'emplacement du logement.
Procédure d'arrivée irréprochable
95 % des voyageurs ont attribué 5 étoiles à la procédure d'arrivée.
A double bed in a private room in a modern courtyard style home, conveniently located close to public transport, about 10-15 mins from the airport, the city, & the sea. Guests have exclusive use of a bathroom, toilet & wash area adjacent to room. Please note that there are no additional costs (for cleaning, wi-fi etc etc - they can be extra costs in other Airbnb options so compare 'apples to apples')
(With a % of the earnings from Airbnb we make donations to charities and causes - see below)

Le logement
This listing is for a double bed in a guest room, in a house where we live. The room is suitable for 1-2 persons, with exclusive use of a guest bathroom, toilet and wash area.
Our house is in an inner suburb locale, 10 minutes on tram to CBD or to beach. From the airport, the taxi will take 10-15 minutes to our home. Taxi costs about $20-$25. Frequent buses go along Anzac Highway out of city. It's a short walk to the local Centro shopping centre on Anzac Highway. Modern courtyard style home with modern conveniences. Delightful garden with fruit trees and vegetables offer a sense of sanctuary. Enjoy breakfast on the patio or a freshly made coffee at any time (Nespresso machine and pods), and enjoy the sounds of the birds that visit the garden, and the park next door. We provide cereal, toast, tea/coffee etc for breakfast. Guests are also welcome to enjoy eggs for breakfast - either from our 'girls' (chickens) when they're laying, or from our locally sourced free range eggs.
Access to broadband internet (wi-fi) - we have upgraded the plan so guests can use it freely.
The living area is an open glassed area with dining, lounge and kitchen in one. Guests are welcome to use the kitchen for food preparation, to eat at the table etc.
Our house is close to the Main South Road, with easy access by car to the vineyards in McLaren Vale (south) or Barossa Valley in the north.
We have goldfish, chooks (chickens), and no inside pets.
There is a guest toilet, separate guest bathroom with shower and bath, and a wash area with large mirror. Bed linen, towels and basic toiletries provided. Air-con panel heating and cooling can be adjusted for the guest room.
The house is single story - no stairs!
We are a friendly couple, with experience in hosting people from many different countries.
Please note: Sandy works full time (Minister at Pilgrim Uniting Church in the city centre) and Geoff is retired (previously worked as chaplain in university but remains busy with various projects). Sometimes we will be at home during the day in 'work mode' to work on projects but do have some flexibility for guests.
Please respect no drugs, and no smoking inside during your stay.
I'm in the process of creating a blogsite with ideas for visitors. Adelaide has many attractions, listed in Lonely Planet's Top 10 to visit in 2014. But there are many attractions less well known.
We regularly support various charities (but don't always update this section).
September 2019 - $50 to support a refugee on Manus
My friend Anthea put out a call to raise $$ for Youssef (name changed to protect privacy). Youssef is very unwell and struggling with his own health issues caused by six years of detention in harsh conditions, in a country he did not willing go to and cannot settle safely. His wife and he will soon have their first baby, in just a couple of weeks, which is both exciting and worrying as the little they have to live on has been compromised by recent terrifying events which have left Youssef injured and with additional expenses. Anthea hopes to raise $1000 to help them over this and to make a fresh start with the new baby 👶
September 2019 - $75 to sponsor Rhanee in the Big Red Kidney Walk to support people living with kidney disease. This walk aims to raise much needed funds and awareness about the seriousness of kidney disease and the impact that it is having on many Australians, their families and our health system. (Importantly, for Aboriginal people living in remote and rural places with less access to dialysis).
August 2019 - $36 to support Claire O'Connor's bike ride for Kids with Cancer in October.
August 2019 - $100 to support various charities supported by Jason Bray's epic charity fundraiser from Singapore to Japan - 3800 km by bike. They are visiting 4 great charities on the way and making a documentary about their adventure.
In December 2018, we gave $500 to a Syrian refugee in Turkey who was facing huge problems. He is the father of 3 young children, whose wife died when the youngest girl was born. Extended family in Australia is supporting their mother and another brother who are in dire circumstances in Lebanon, and do not have any funds spare to help for the family in Turkey. Just the tip of the iceberg for the plight of refugees. We are glad to be able to set aside a % of Airbnb funds to pass on to this family.
In 2017 includes donation to Ben Clark (fundraising for Cambodian projects), Barbara May Foundation (providing lifesaving maternal health care in Tanzania and Ethiopia) - thanks too for extra donation from Michael and Debbie.
In 2015, a minimum of 50% of the per night booking went towards fistula projects in Ethiopia and Tanzania including the Hamlin Fistula Project in Ethiopa to fund the treatment of childbirth injuries and the training of midwives in Ethiopia. This charity is founded by legendary Australian, Dr Catherine Hamlin. Also, the Barbara May Foundation (with Dr Andrew Browning) providing sustainable maternal health care in developing countries. I have sent $3000 to the Hamlin Fistula project. Thank you for your contribution to this very worthy cause! In April I sent $210 to the Barbara May Foundation. I have also given $200 to Nepal for emergency relief via an on the ground local agency. I sent $250 to an appeal for a friend seriously ill with liver cancer, and $250 to a family with newborn twins, one of whom is chronically ill (GoFundMe - Snuggles for James). I sent $100 through Chuffed to support the families of Frank and Thierry, 11 year old boys from the Burundi community in Adelaide who tragically drowned at Glenelg beach on New Years Day. The funds were sought for their funeral costs.
With your help, I've been able to give away $5K minimum to support others who are doing it tough. Thanks for your help!
In 2016, earnings went towards towards the Amnesty program 'Freedom From Fences' which helps to maintain the Refugee Casework Program to support women, men and children living through the challenges of life in immigration detention.
We have donated $150 to Building Bridges Uganda for underprivileged children and $100 to project to send educational resources to children on Nauru (immigration detention centre).
We have used earnings for 'phone top ups' for detainees on Manus and Nauru, through the page 'Gifts for Manus and Nauru'.
We gave $200 to support a PhD study with cerebral palsy and in a wheelchair to go to Canada for a conference (funds were being raised for Daryl and his care support person to go) and $100 to the family of an Aboriginal mother who tragically died in USA on a holiday with her husband. I gave $50 to the "For Maria" fundraiser, for the woman who died on Mt Everest, to enable her body to be brought home.
In 2014, I supported a range of KIVA micro-loan projects. This is ongoing, as funds are recycled into new projects.

Où vous dormirez

Ce que propose ce logement

Parking gratuit dans la rue
Patio ou balcon
Indisponible : Détecteur de monoxyde de carbone


Accès à l'entrée bien éclairé
Accès de plain-pied à l'entrée extérieure

Sélectionnez la date d'arrivée

Ajoutez vos dates de voyage pour voir le prix exact
Ajouter une date
Ajouter une date

4,84 étoiles sur 5 d'après 433 commentaires


Où se situe le logement

Glandore, Australie du sud, Australie

It's very close to main roads and public transport, but very quiet as well. We have a park over the back fence with many trees, so there's plenty of bird life in our neighbourhood. It's a very safe and friendly area. Close to shops as well (Coles, Kmart, chemist, fast food outlets, banks/ATM, doctor, dentist, etc).

Proposé par Geoff & Sandy

  1. Membre depuis juin 2010
  • 520 commentaires
  • Identité vérifiée
  • Superhôte
Geoff and Sandy from Australia. Geoff is now retired after 20 years as Coordinating Chaplain at Flinders University. Sandy is a full time (and more!) minister at Pilgrim Uniting Church in the Adelaide CBD. Proud grandparents of 3 wonderful grand-girls, one grand-boy and one on its way. Love our organic vegetable garden and our 'chooks' (chickens). Enjoy travelling. Experienced hosts of visitors to Adelaide.
Geoff and Sandy from Australia. Geoff is now retired after 20 years as Coordinating Chaplain at Flinders University. Sandy is a full time (and more!) minister at Pilgrim Uniting Ch…

Pendant votre séjour

We are limited in how much time we spend with guests, but do enjoy conversations with guests over breakfast and in the evening (though we also need our time for R&R after a day's work!). We have met some wonderful people through AirBnB and love the opportunity to provide hospitality to visitors. We also respect sometimes guests just want some R&R on their travels, or have plans to visit friends and family or tourist locations. We are ready and willing to support guests if they need any assistance in making plans for what they will do in Adelaide to make the most of seeing the city and surrounds.
We are sometimes able to pick up guests from the airport/train station, so appreciate knowing arrival times in case we are able to arrange to collect guests.
We are limited in how much time we spend with guests, but do enjoy conversations with guests over breakfast and in the evening (though we also need our time for R&R after a day's w…

Geoff & Sandy est Superhôte

Les Superhôtes sont des hôtes expérimentés qui bénéficient de très bonnes évaluations et qui s'engagent à offrir d'excellents séjours aux voyageurs.
  • Langue: English
  • Taux de réponse: 100%
  • Délai de réponse: Moins d'une heure
Pour protéger votre paiement, ne transférez jamais d'argent et ne communiquez pas en dehors du site ou de l'application Airbnb.

À savoir

Règlement intérieur

Arrivée : Flexibles
Non fumeur
Pas d'animaux
Pas de fête ni de soirée

Santé et sécurité

L'hôte s'engage à appliquer le processus de nettoyage renforcé d'Airbnb. En savoir plus
Les consignes d'Airbnb en matière de distanciation physique et d'autres consignes liées au Covid-19 s'appliquent.
Aucune indication de la présence d'un détecteur de monoxyde de carbone En savoir plus
Détecteur de fumée

Conditions d'annulation

Découvrez d'autres possibilités d'hébergement ⋅ Glandore et ses environs

Plus d'hébergements ⋅ Glandore :