The house from the road.An image of the sitting room before the remodelling. Apologies but we have limited images of the room at present.
Image du profil

Sweet dreams: super comfy sofa bed

Royaume-UniPavenham
Chambre partagée
2 voyageurs
1 lit
1 adulte
0 enfants
De 2 à 12 ans
0 bébés
- de 2 ans
2 voyageurs au maximum. Les bébés ne sont pas pris en compte dans le nombre de voyageurs.
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez
4 voyageurs ont enregistré ce logement

À propos de ce logement

NB. This bed is ONLY available if you book our smaller double, with which it shares a bathroom.

Sofa bed in our large sitting room. It may be a sofa bed but it is king sized and super comfortable, plus the bed linen is Egyptian cotton.


Le logement
Capacité d'accueil : 2
Salles de bain : 1.5
Type de lit : Canapé convertible
Chambres : 1
Lits : 1
Arrivée : À partir de 16:00
Départ : 12:00
Animal sur place : Chien(s)
Type de logement : Chambre partagée

Équipements

Prix
Voyageur supplémentaire : 12€ / nuit après le premier voyageur
Frais de ménage : 24€
Caution : 120€
Conditions d'annulation : Modérées
Tarif week-end : 30€ / nuit

Description

NB. This bed is ONLY available if you book our smaller double, with which it shares a bathroom.

Sofa bed in our large sitting room. It may be a sofa bed but it is king sized and super comfortable, plus the bed linen is Egyptian cotton.

Please note that bookings for this space will ONLY be taken in conjunction with a booking for our smaller double room, which is advertised here as "Wake up to a country garden".

In booking both spaces you agree to shared use of the first floor bathroom with one another. There is also a downstairs loo, which you are able to use.

The sitting room has a king sized sofa bed. It is Italian designed and extremely comfortable, with cotton and linen covers. The bed linens are Egyptian cotton and all our towels are of high quality cotton.

The room is 3.7m by 10.2m.

The central section is 3.7m by 5.0m, and is given over to the television and seating, and the entrance to the room. The sofa bed is located in this area. A hanging rail can also be placed in this area.

The front section, overlooking the front garden, is 3.7m by 2.5m and is given over to the bookcases and a table with four chairs, at which breakfast can be served.

The third section, which overlooks the rear garden, measures 3.0m by 2.7m, and is used as a study. You are asked not to use this section.

The room is newly decorated, though at the time of writing (August 2015) there is a little more work to be done to construct a second book case in the room. Consequently, there are still some boxes in the room which will be there until the work has been completed. However, as the room is large this should not disturb your enjoyment of it.

You will have access to the sitting room, except the study area. We may have to restrict access to the sitting room in the working day if the study area is in use. However, as we are only taking bookings for the space under very particular circumstances, we will be able to advise you clearly on this at the time of your booking.

You will have shared access to the living kitchen. Please note, however, that we do not allow guests to cook or use the laundry room facilities themselves. This is because of the need to limit our insurance liability should something go wrong! We are happy to provide meals and do laundry, though charges do apply.

You will also have shared use of the first floor family bathroom with the guests in the smaller double room upstairs.

Refreshments - an extensive range of teas, coffee and chilled water - are available in the kitchen throughout the day. If you are lucky, we may also be offering a freshly baked cake or biscuits alongside an afternoon tea.

Meals - are served in the living kitchen or, if the weather is good, can be served in the garden. Most evenings you can enjoy the peace and quiet of our relaxing sitting room, with access to our eclectic collection of books and music. The room also has its own television. You will have the option of eating any meals in this dog-free space from mid-September 2015.

Sitting room - Please note that we will only make this facility available when our other double room is occupied, and only to people who are prepared to share the house bathroom, i.e. it will not be let out separately.

Out of bounds - The study area of the sitting room, the first floor studio and our bedroom are not open to guests.

Please note that we have a second room listed on airbnb, our larger double with an en suite bathroom, so you may be staying with us when other people are in the house.

We work from home, so we're around in the house most of the time, normally in our respective studio and office spaces. So we're normally on hand to answer questions.

We're happy to serve one of our signature breakfasts or a delicious home cooked seasonal dinner, just ask for the options and let us know what you want the day before!

Otherwise, we won't seek to impose ourselves on you!

Please note that we have a second room listed on airbnb, our larger double with an en suite bathroom, so you may be staying with us when other people are in the house.

The village is quiet and quintessentially English, with a charming parish church and some wonderful local walks. Within an hour's travel time, we have the joys of London, Cambridge, Milton Keynes and Northampton. We are equidistant from the M1 and A1.

Bedford station is on the mainline from St Pancras International out of London. The fast train takes just 38 minutes. The train station is just twelve minutes away by car or taxi.

Being an English village, in a rural location, there isn't a constant stream of buses in and out of Bedford. We have two into town in the morning and one returning to the village late afternoon. Otherwise, it is a six mile taxi journey from the station.

The nearest airport is London Luton, which is 40 minutes away by car. London Luton and London Gatwick are both readily accessible by train from Bedford station.

It is possible to park a car at the property and we have a charging point for an electric car. (Please note that using the charging point is an additional cost.)

We're not running a bed and breakfast! This is a home stay offer, so it is our home and we're doing this because we like to meet people from a diversity of backgrounds. We've travelled widely, so we're very at ease with other cultures.

Whilst we are happy to cook for you and to do some laundry for you, we don't let others use the kitchen or laundry room. It's primarily a fire/health and safety issue that we are keen to avoid. Even though this is "home stay", it is still covered by various bits of government legislation.


Règlement intérieur
Non fumeur
Pas de fête ni de soirée
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait après 16:00

We want to ensure that your stay is as happy and pleasant as possible, for both you and us, so please remember that you are staying in our home. We are running neither a hotel nor a Bed & Breakfast, so we ask you to act responsibly and abide by our House Rules:

1. Please ensure that you close gates and doors, to keep the dogs in or out as is appropriate.
2. No daytime guests, unless authorised by us in advance, and no overnight guests beyond those included in the original booking. We are happy to have other people in the house, perhaps to join you for lunch or a walk, but we do need to know beforehand.
3. Please take off your shoes when walking on the carpeted areas.
4. We do allow other dogs to stay from time to time, but they must be well behaved and be prepared to bed down with our two. Dogs are not allowed upstairs or in the sitting room.
5. Absolutely no candles or other naked flames.
6. Absolutely no smoking inside the house. You may smoke in the back garden but please ensure that you dispose of any matches, cigarettes etc. responsibly in the sand jars outside.
7. No excessive consumption of alcohol or other intoxicants. From experience, some people are happy drunks, others become belligerent and argumentative. It is our home and the latter state is not fun for us. We are also concerned for your welfare and the welfare of others whilst you are with us, so if we feel that you are unfit to drive we will ask you to surrender your car keys.
Breach of rules 3 to 7 may incur (at our absolute discretion) an additional cleaning fee of up to £100.00, which will be immediately payable.
8. Please keep noise (including TV, radios etc.) to a minimum between 23.30 and 0730.
9. Please respect our neighbours and neighbourhood by keeping noise and any other disturbance to a minimum.
10. Sadly experience tells us that we have to impose a curfew, as late returns can be disrupt the whole household (dogs included, which means lots of barking) and our neighbours. Ordinarily this is 23.30 (11.30 pm) but if you advise us before 23.30 (either in person or by phone) we're happy to extend this to 01.00 (1 am). Arriving after the agreed time (23.30 or 01.00 as appropriate) will incur an immediate penalty of £40.00.

In addition any loss or damages (of any sort) incurred by us as a result of your breach of any of these House Rules will render you liable for reimbursing us for the said loss or damages.


Dispositif de sécurité
Détecteur de fumée
Détecteur de monoxyde de carbone
Kit de premiers secours
Fiche de sécurité
Extincteur

Disponibilité
Séjour de 1 nuit minimum

Cet espace n'attend que votre commentaire

Cet hôte a 89 commentaires pour d'autres propriétés.

Voir d'autres commentaires

Votre hôte


Miguel

Miguel

Pavenham, Royaume-Uni · Membre depuis juin 2013

British-Chilean couple both working in the creative sector, one around economic development, the other around graphics, photography, illustration and the sale of contemporary visual arts.

Neither of us smoke and we drink very much in moderation; when we do, we enjoy sparkling and fine wines, and the occasional malt whisky. We both enjoy trying different cuisines; current (and some enduring) favourites are French, Italian, Lebanese, and Thai. We both love to cook and bake, and we enjoy eating healthily, so there are plenty of pulses, legumes and salads on the menu. We tend to use Natvia, a natural sugar substitute, for baking, so our cakes and biscuits are sweet but without the health challenges presented by sugar!

Andrew has an extensive collection of books - fiction and non-fiction - which you'll find in the sitting room and dotted around the house. If you are with us for a few days, we're happy for you to take one of the shelf, settle down and have a good read. Similarly there's an eclectic selection of DVDs and CDs, just waiting for you to play!

We enjoy walking with our dogs. The north Bedfordshire countryside is a hidden English gem, easily missed on the journeys north on the A1 and M1, and we're enjoying getting to know it better.

We travel a lot with work; Andrew has worked with both the British Council and the United Nations, spending time in countries as diverse as Colombia, Indonesia, Lebanon, Tanzania and Vietnam. He also lived for a time in India. When we travel we are always looking for homes away from home as we both love to cook and to be as comfortable as possible, without too much fuss! Endless nights in a hotel can be pretty soul destroying.

Clean spaces, with a comfortable bed and good bed linens, are a must. Ideally with a quiet space to work. High speed wifi is also essential as we keep in contact with our work and families by !

We also appreciate how important these things are when people come to stay with us, so we aim to have a clean and tidy house, which has quiet spaces, comfortable beds, adequate storage, and a reliable internet connection! We also aim to provide tasty food.

Taux de réponse : 100%(90 derniers jours)
Délai de réponse : Quelques heures

Connexions sociales