Living room - nice and bright!


Chambre privée

2 voyageurs

1 chambre

1 lit


Chambre privée

2 voyageurs

1 chambre

1 lit

Veuillez entrer le nombre d'adultes.
Adultes
1
Veuillez entrer le nombre d'enfants.
Enfants
De 2 à 12 ans
0
Veuillez entrer le nombre de bébés.
Bébés
- de 2 ans
0
2 voyageurs au maximum. Les bébés ne sont pas pris en compte dans le nombre de voyageurs.
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez

À propos de ce logement

Only 8km from the heart of downtown Ottawa, this charming war time house is a great place to retreat to after you have participated in the Tulip Festival!

When not working/touristing, you will want to hang out in the backyard with beautiful flowers, a hammock, table/chairs, BBQ, and likely the company of Shaggy :-)

I also have a 2nd queen room and possibly a double bed also for rent. If the calendar does not appear available please reach out!

Tulip festival is just down the road!


Le logement
Capacité d'accueil : 2
Salles de bain : 1 (Salle de bains partagée)
Chambres : 1
Lits : 1
Arrivée : 14:00 - 20:00
Départ : 10:00
Animal sur place : Chien(s)
Type de logement : Chambre privée

Équipements

Prix
Voyageur supplémentaire : 14€ / nuit après le premier voyageur
Frais de ménage : 17€
Caution : 103€
Réduction à la semaine : 13%
Communiquez toujours via Airbnb
Pour protéger votre paiement, ne transférez jamais d'argent et n'établissez pas de contact en dehors du site ou de l'application Airbnb. En savoir plus

Description

Le logement

Large bedroom with new windows that open and room darkening curtains. Desk, lots of light, dresser and closet with hangers. All linens supplied.
Ironing board and iron available. Upon your arrival, you will be greeted with a bottle of water and yummy chocolates in your room along with all the information you need such as the Wi-Fi code and how to get around town!

As this is shared living space, please leave no trace - return belongings to your room after showering (tote provided), wash your dishes immediately after using and put away. Thank you :-)

Accès des voyageurs

There is a shared bathroom on the main floor but guests always have the priority for using the bathroom in the morning as I work from home and can shower later in the day. You may use cooking utensils in kitchen and carve out room in the refrigerator. You're also welcome to use the washer and dryer in the basement at designated times. Unlimited wi-fi provided.

Échanges avec les voyageurs

I may be in and out during your stay - I will likely be here on a weekday as I work from home. You will find that I am not that chatty while working but I would be delighted to help you with anything you need in the house.

My dog Shaggy would love to entertain you :-)

Le quartier

I am located 8km west of the Byward Market in a great, safe neighbourhood. There is a Shoppers Drug Mart nearby for convenience supplies including food; 3 banks within walking distance, health food store, fast food. Grocery Store about a 15 minute walk.
Within a 30 minute walk you have the hot neighbourhoods of Westboro and Hintonburg - enough restaurants and shops to keep you very busy!
30 minute walk to the east (you can also take a bus) is Preston Street.

Transports

Close to several bus routes - most common would be 85, 176 or the 101. From my location you might go west to Bayshore Shopping Centre but more often you would go east to Rideau Centre and Byward market - one bus will take you there in about 20 minutes :-)

You can buy bus tickets at Shoppers Drug Mart nearby.

Autres remarques

Please note that parking is on the street only and has a 2 hour limit on weekdays. One block away is 3 hour max on weekdays.

I provide bed linens, towels, etc. If there is something you need, just let me know!


Règlement intérieur
Non fumeur
Ne convient pas aux animaux
Pas de fête ni de soirée
Peut ne pas convenir aux enfants (0-12 ans)
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait entre 14:00 et 20:00

Bathroom
•Wipe down the sink and tub after each use (even if you can't see dirt) – there is a small cloth close to each the tub and sink plus dish soap
•Given there is only 1 bathroom, if you are going to be a while, perhaps ask others if they need to use the bathroom first
•Remove all evidence of your bathroom activities – bring shampoo, soap, etc. back to your room; use the toilet brush if needed;


Kitchen
•Please help yourself to find dishes; pots and pans are under the stove; baking sheets are above the fridge
•Feel free to cook food and carve out some space in the fridge but do clean up after yourself before leaving the kitchen.
•Recycling is in the back vestibule/porch
•Composting is under the sink
o Animal products should be wrapped in paper (obtained from back vestibule, bottom shelf on left) and placed outside in the tall green garbage bin (no plastic in there please)

Office
•You seriously don't want to go in there – you may get trapped by the paper monster :-)
•I do not offer scanning, photocopying or printing services

Shaggy
•Just don't feed him…. No matter how starving he tells you he is, He is well fed :-)

Bedroom
•Feel free to open/close windows as desired
o If heat/air conditioning is turned on, cover the vent in the floor so we are not heating/cooling outside
•If you have food in your room, keep your door closed to keep Shaggy out please – he is a food thief!

Laundry
•You are welcome to use it at designated times
•To use the dryer, turn the dial in the vicinity of 3 to 6 if there were a clock face around the knob
•You are welcome to use my soap and dryer sheets (I re-use dryer sheets so please do not discard)

Groceries
•Shoppers Drug Mart nearby and open 24 hours
•Food Basics (on Kirkwood) – about 15 minute walk down Carling (west)
•Ethnic grocery store just over on Merivale (a block away)
Restaurants

Closest are:
•Bowman's – east down Viscount at Carling (craft beer; some food made on site)
•Monkey Joe's (at Westgate Shopping Centre, same as Shoppers Drug Mart; like a Kelsey's)
•Rockin' Johnny's Diner (at Westgate Shopping Centre, same as Shoppers Drug Mart)
•Use Yelp to find more!

Things to Do in Ottawa
•Some museums are free on Thursday evenings – e.g. the Art Gallery
•There is free comedy at Yuk Yuk's on Sunday nights
•Byward Market is our official touristy area
•Landsdown is a new “touristy" area with a couple of sports teams in the vicinity
•You can buy bus tickets at Shoppers Drug Mart – my neighbourhood is easy to get downtown by bus; Uber is also inexpensive


Annulations

Strictes

Si vous annulez jusqu'à 7 jours avant le voyage, vous recevez un remboursement à hauteur de 50 % et les frais de service vous sont remboursés intégralement.


Dispositif de sécurité
Détecteur de fumée
Détecteur de monoxyde de carbone

Disponibilité
La durée minimum de séjour pour cette annonce peut varier.
Ajoutez vos dates de voyage pour voir plus de détails.

L'adresse exacte est communiquée uniquement lorsque la réservation est confirmée.

31 commentaires


Précision
Communication
Propreté
Emplacement
Arrivée
Qualité-prix
Profil utilisateur de Julian
mars 2017
Great place to stay, especially if you're doing an elective at the Civic (< 10 min walk). Darlene is very kind and accommodating. Shaggy (dog) is super friendly and will let you pet him for hours. I definitely recommend staying here.

Profil utilisateur de Lisa
mars 2017
Stayed here for 5 nights as an elective medical student out of the civic. Was more expensive than staying with someone through the online group, but I ended up looking too late. Pros include less than a 15 minute walk to the hospital, given a key code for entry/exit to the house (made for very easy check in and no hassle with keys), and was generally organized. Cons include no parking space in the winter (had to leave my car at a friend's parents), 1 bathroom for three people (however we made a plan for when we would be using it in the morning which was helpful), and not much is within waking distance in terms of nearby restaurants/food/amenities. That being said, Ottawa has uber, so its not too bad.
Profil utilisateur de Darlene
Réponse de Darlene :
Thanks for leaving an honest review Lisa - one big pro that I thought you might have been thankful for is that rather than checking out at 10am, you stayed here until 4pm without any charge or problem - hopefully that compensates for not being able to park here during your stay or having to share a bathroom :-)
mars 2017

Profil utilisateur de Marcus
février 2017
Stayed at Darlene's place for 3 days during my CaRMS interview. Check-in was easy with a personalized code to the main door provided before arrival. Her place was clean and convenient (walking distance to the Royal Ottawa or TOH Civic Campus). The room was comfortable with a work desk. Clean towels were provided. In summary, good value, good location, and comfortable. Tip: I would recommend bringing a sweater to wear at night as it can get a little chilly in the room.
Profil utilisateur de Darlene
Réponse de Darlene :
Thank you for the feedback regarding night time temperatures Marcus!
février 2017

Profil utilisateur de Anthony
janvier 2017
Came in late and stayed for 1 night only. Darlene was very accommodating. Recommend!

Profil utilisateur de Mark
janvier 2017
As advertised. Darlene was accommodating of my needs. Close to Civic hospital.

Profil utilisateur de Joseph
décembre 2016
Nice place

Profil utilisateur de Kristin
novembre 2016
Great location for working at the Civic hospital. Darlene was very welcoming!

Cet hôte a 27 commentaires pour d'autres propriétés.

Voir d'autres commentaires

Ottawa, Canada · Membre depuis décembre 2013
Profil utilisateur de Darlene

Hi there! I am a (less than) middle aged woman who works from home and likes to travel. Most of my travel is boring business stuff but I have been to London (England), Vancouver, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Seattle and St. Lucia so far!

I am quite outgoing yet like to hang around the house and have friends over rather than go out. I enjoy visiting different parks on my dog walks and generally like to kayak or garden when not working in summer. Oh I must not forget my weekly visits to Farmers Markets!

Generally I lean towards the crunchy granola side of life - I make some of my own products for personal and household cleaning; I cook from scratch whenever I can; I am a yogi wannabe :-)

Taux de réponse : 100%
(10 derniers contacts)
Délai de réponse : Moins d'une heure