This is the adjacent dormer space.  Great for reading, meditating, or just staring out the window.The bedroom, looking back towards the landing half of upstairs.


Chambre privée

2 voyageurs

1 chambre

1 lit


Chambre privée

2 voyageurs

1 chambre

1 lit

Veuillez entrer le nombre d'adultes.
Adultes
1
Veuillez entrer le nombre d'enfants.
Enfants
De 2 à 12 ans
0
Veuillez entrer le nombre de bébés.
Bébés
- de 2 ans
0
2 voyageurs au maximum. Les bébés ne sont pas pris en compte dans le nombre de voyageurs.
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez
Vous ne serez débité que si vous confirmez

À propos de ce logement

The attic re-model is done and available: bright & quiet with oak floors. Well-lit bedroom/dormer/entry room upstairs; charming cat + host downstairs. I-5 & MAX are close, or borrow a bike and ramble through the neighborhoods. Options abound.


Le logement
Capacité d'accueil : 2
Salles de bain : 1
Type de lit : Vrai lit
Chambres : 1
Lits : 1
Arrivée : À partir de 17:00
Départ : 14:00
Animal sur place : Chat(s)
Type de logement : Chambre privée

Équipements

Prix
Voyageur supplémentaire : 5€ / nuit après le premier voyageur
Frais de ménage : 9€
Caution : 95€
Réduction à la semaine : 9%
Tarif week-end : 57€ / nuit

Description

The attic re-model is done and available: bright & quiet with oak floors. Well-lit bedroom/dormer/entry room upstairs; charming cat + host downstairs. I-5 & MAX are close, or borrow a bike and ramble through the neighborhoods. Options abound.

I'm a fan of loft/attics spaces, and have finally got my own pulled together. The sense of 'being away' upstairs gives a lot of privacy for guests, without being too isolated. I'll hang out here from time to time because it's a nice reading/writing/thinking space, and was torn about offering it because I like it so much. I hope you enjoy it.

Living room, dining room, den, kitchen, and bathroom are all shared on the main floor. The basement is worth avoiding but there are bikes for borrow in the garage. My internet service has become a bit glitchy, though, so you'll need to bear with me on that.

I'm happy to hang out and chat if I'm home; the cat will stand in adequately if I'm not. As mentioned elsewhere, I can offer tips and suggestions or not.

Excellent location for reaching all of Portland AND surrounding area. Lots of new housing blocks going in, with cool new shops and restaurants. Groceries are a 10 minute and 20 minute walk away. Peninsula Park also about 10 minutes. Mississippi District is a 10 minute bike ride; Alberta District isn't much further.

Public transit? absolutely. The yellow line is 3 blocks away: close enough to run, if need be (trust me) but far enough not to hear. #72 and #4 buses are also easy to catch. I-5 is right there. As noted, loaner bikes are a good way to explore these neighborhoods, mostly dating to the '50s, but some earlier.

MAXing from the airport (red to yellow) takes about an hour; taxi will run you about $25-30. No bus that I know of makes the trip. Street parking is free and everywhere.

I haven't quite worked out the breakfast part, but I'm working on it. Stay tuned....


Règlement intérieur
L'entrée dans les lieux se fait à partir de 17:00

The cat must stay indoors all the time. No other pets, please.
I know it makes me a jerk to ask, but I really do need non-smoking guests.
Normal quiet hours (10pm-7am).


Annulations

Flexibles

Si vous annulez jusqu'à 24 heures avant le voyage, vous recevez un remboursement intégral, frais de service compris.


Dispositif de sécurité
Détecteur de fumée
Détecteur de monoxyde de carbone
Kit de premiers secours
Extincteur

Disponibilité
Séjour de 2 nuits minimum

L'adresse exacte est communiquée uniquement lorsque la réservation est confirmée.

25 commentaires


Précision
Communication
Propreté
Emplacement
Arrivée
Qualité-prix
Profil utilisateur de Steffen
octobre 2015
My girlfriend and I had a very nice stay in Mitch´s loft during our visit in Portland. We found everything as described in the offer. Mitch was super friendly and helped us out with a hiking and breakfast book and gave us various other tips about the city. Thanks for everything, Mitch!

Profil utilisateur de Jay
octobre 2015
Mitch was a very gracious host. He was very friendly, flexible on our our arrival time, and offered some great recommendations. The loft was very spacious and comfortable - it was a great respite after spending the day roaming around Portland. The house is very close to some great restaurants and night spots as well as the train and bus. This was my first Airbnb stay and would definitely recommend!

Profil utilisateur de Scott
octobre 2015
Mitch (and Maggie!) were very welcoming hosts and also very accommodating of our arrival and departure times. Mitch was great for conversation whenever our paths crossed, and had great advice about things to check out during our stay. The attic space was even bigger and more comfortable than expected. It's a really great, peaceful space. Mitch's place is located right on the Yellow MAX, so it's an easy trip downtown. A couple of buses (the 72 and 4) are also right there, making getting around a breeze. There is a grocery store within walking distance as well as an Asian market, a couple coffeeshops, and a couple good restaurants. (Be sure to visit Eddie's!) I would definitely return to Mitch's place!

Profil utilisateur de Hector
septembre 2015
Great experience at Mitch's. The attic is great and with lot of room. It is conveniently situated, close to the highway and the MAX. Mitch is very nice and friendly, always helpful. Thanks for helping with my arrival in Portland!

Profil utilisateur de Hannah
septembre 2015
The loft space was clean, comfortable and very charming. It also was really nicely semi-private from the rest of the house which was an extra bonus. Mitch was an exceptional host- he was very quick and clear when it came to communication; was exceedingly helpful when it came to finding stuff to do around town; and was just generally awesome at welcoming us to Portland/his home. The location of his place was also great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Profil utilisateur de Larissa
septembre 2015
Mitch's loft is clean, comfortable, and downright cool. The original wood flooring is gorgeous, the bed is large and comfortable, and there is a lot of natural light and ventilation from the new windows. For those staying a bit longer, there is space in the dresser and the closet in the room as well. Mitch and his cat Maggie welcomed us so warmly and we really enjoyed spending time with them both. The house is wonderfully situated, just 20 minutes from downtown by streetcar, within walking distance of everything happening on the east shore, and within biking distance of everything. The bikes Mitch lent us were a serious game changer for our visit to the city; they were in perfect condition, had adjustable seats to accomodate different heights, and also came with helmets. If I return to Portland, I'd definitely stay here again! Or, at the very least, invite Mitch to meet up for brunch to chat about how the garden is doing =). Thanks again, Mitch!

Profil utilisateur de Julie
août 2015
Mitch was very willing to give suggestions and answer questions. The bed was comfy and Maggie is a sweetheart! Many options within walking distance and short walk to yellow line of MAX. Internet connection wasn't great.

Portland, Oregon, États-Unis · Membre depuis août 2013
Profil utilisateur de Mitch

I like to dabble and explore. It's kind of why I like this house and 'hood so much. It's a great mix of 'away' and 'near stuff.' The attic can be completely away from the world, but get on a bike (I have loaners) and you're 10 minutes from some of the cooler parts of Portland [Alberta, Mississippi, Peninsula Park]. Pizza's on the other corner of this very block, while Thai and Ethiopian are 4 blocks the other way. I'm happy to give suggestions, or you can just grab a map and go. Come and go as you like, stop and chat, or just keep running...

As for me, I go for everything from ecology to baking to history to writing. Just picked up a kayak. I suppose in some ways I'm stereotypically Portland: I bike to work, I'm clearing space for raised beds, and I like rain. I read pretty widely, and travel when I can. But I love to hear what other folks are doing and finding in Portland: it seems like such a natural place to visit.

Also, as a sidenote, I can't always get to my phone in this job(/life?), so my response may not always be within 10 seconds. But I WILL get back to you.

And don't forget Maggie the Cat. Super-sweet, although she can be a little shy. A lapcat that loves running: who knew?